Happy Mothers Day!

Standard

Oh I have had the most gorgeous morning. It’s been a wonderful weekend, actually.

I woke up to the sounds of clattering crockery from the kitchen, and came downstairs with trepidation. It was my Molly Pie, emptying the dishwasher. She’d also tidied the front room, plumped cushions and cleared all the assorted junk off my desk, and she then made me a coffee and gave me the pile of handmade gifts from all three Chums.

 

Image

Harry then made me a breakfast fit for a Queen (bacon with chilli, the boy knows me well) and cleared up behind himself. I am so proud of my babies, they really have made an effort for me and showered me with love and affection. And so far, there’s been no bickering and they’ve done everything I’ve asked with no drama. It’s been amazing.

Rob is away this weekend on his once a year jolly with his university mates. Although I’ve missed him, it’s been a really good time with the children. I’ve been stuck in a cycle of work/sleep/stress lately. So it was really nice to have the chums to myself, and it’s forced me (in a good way) to engage with them and spend time with them instead of delegating it to Rob.

On Friday we ordered a takeaway and watched Catching Fire. We had a blast, and a really nice grown up chat about the film as well, which warmed my heart. Molly slept in my bed with me ‘to keep me company’.

On Saturday we had a tidy up and a snuggle, and then went to Mum and Dads for the afternoon. Molly and I went to Tescos to get some bits for dinner and had a really nice time together, she is an angel when she’s not competing for my attention.

When we got back to Mum’s, two of my little nieces had arrived, so all the children played and sang the afternoon away.

Then we cooked an epic Chinese feast for everyone. I forgot that Rob eats more food than the rest of us put together, so in his absence we have enough leftovers to keep us going for a week. Oops.

We threw all the kids in the bath together, well except Harry who is a bit old for that now 😦 And then it was into pjs and home for an early night. Well, for the kids. I stayed up until 11, which means it was really midnight once I’d done all the clocks. I can’t remember the last time I stayed up until midnight without it being a party. Rock and roll.

And then on to today. The sun is shining, I have amazing children, my gorgeous husband will be home soon and the stress of the last few weeks (keeping the house ready for viewings, panicking over paperwork and worrying about selling the house in time to secure the new one) seems a distant memory. The move is all on track and we are exchanging contracts in two weeks. I am able to feel calm (well, calmer) and almost back to my it’ll-be-fiiine self.

Wishing you all a lovely Sunny Sunday, whatever your plans xx

 

Leave a Reply

