Decorating and other stuff

Standard

Hello all my lovelies.

Well, we’ve had a busy old time here lately. In amongst the child wrangling I have been revamping the house a bit, sort of nesting I suppose.

Here are the before shots. It’s messy, cluttered, homely I suppose, but a bit blah.

I have been mithering for a new sofa for ages, pretty much since we moved in. My Ikea Klippan has served us well for the last five and a half years but it is too small, and it has a loose cover that needs to be adjusted Every Single Time someone sits on it. Drives me bananas. So I have asked Father Christmas for a new sofa, and  my lovely husband Father Christmas has said I can order  one. So I have.

It’s this one: http://www.dfs.co.uk/sofas/christmas-delivery/reeves/. It’s HUUUUUGE and squishy and comfy and is arriving just in time for my birthday a few days before Christmas.

So now I’m all fired up with the home improvements bug, I have decided to finally do something about my horrible cupboards. Built by the previous owners, they are a triumph of will over lack of skill. They are made of cardboard (or possibly plywood), with perspex frosted panels and some well dodgy lattice bits. The doors don’t shut properly and they are a sort of dirty pine colour. But they are jolly useful for storage. Oh and the floor doesn’t go under them, so ripping them out would mean replacing the flooring (£££ that we just don’t have at the moment).

I have been toying with the idea of painting them white for a while now. As my sister said, ‘at least they can’t look any worse…’. So that’s what I’ve done:

So far so good, Except now the chimney breast looks really bare and pale. But not for long…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And now I’ve got the purple vibe going, I decide to extend it into the dining room:

And there you have it guys and gals. My 60 Minute Makeover stylee Living Room Rejuvenation project. Love it.

<sits back and waits for new sofa and curtains to arrive>

I’m doing the kitchen next.

xx

About Just Some Stuff About Us

I live in West Sussex with three bonkers children and a Rock God for a husband. I'm somewhere in my thirties but I frequently have to count on my fingers to remember where exactly. I like to talk about myself and my chums. Some people like to read it.

One response »

Leave a Reply

