Why Blog?

Standard

The very lovely and clever DillyTante posed this question for us over on Mumsnet, and has started a bloghop about it.

It’s a fascinating question, and I’ve really enjoyed reading the other blogs in the hop. People either ‘get it’ or they don’t, I’ve found. For me, blogging is completely narcissistic and fills a need I have to commit my every waking thought to paper. Or in this case screen.

I first found Mumsnet in 2007, read a thread talking about the shaggability (or otherwise) of Mr Tumble and realised I’d found my spiritual home.

I literally posted about everything back in those days. For a while I was a stay at home mum when both children were at school, so I had lots and lots of time to avoid the housework  think of things to post about. I had the bug. Badly.

Then, about a year and a half ago, I followed a link to the MN Bloggers network, and my new obsession was born. I have less time to devote to this blogging lark than I did in the heights of my MN posting, but I try to blog whenever I have something to say (or, often, nothing to say. Then I just waffle on). Or when I have a few minutes or hours spare.

Dilly has suggested some questions, so I’ll answer those here.

Why do you blog?

I blog because I like to write. It’s that simple. I find it relaxing, often cathartic, sometimes amusing and always enjoyable. I like writing publically because I like the validation of people reading and commenting. I get a real thrill from checking my stats and seeing that 100, or 200, or one memorable day, 1,378 (!) people have read the blog.

What do you get from it?

I get a great deal of pleasure from the act of writing and from knowing people are reading it. I also love to read back over my posts like a diary, Wills’ birth story for example. If I hadn’t written that then I would have forgotten most of the detail, committing it to the internet means it’s there for me to look back on whenever I want. Or often it’s just me venting my spleen.

Is it trivial and is that ok sometimes?

It usually is! And that’s fine, for me. I do occasionally venture into more weighty subjects but generally I like to keep it about fripperies and trivia.

Why should people be interested in what you write?

I have absolutely no idea. I think I’m interesting (clearly, that’s the narcissism creeping in again), and plenty of you seem to appreciate my posts (which I think is WONDERFUL), but I don’t think I’m writing the Great British Novel anytime soon, it’s just a bit of fun.

Do you care if they are not?

Of course not! If people aren’t interested then they don’t have to read it. So long as no one leaves me nasty feedback, because then I’ll cry.

If you blog just for you why do it publically?

Because I am a MASSIVE attention seeker and love to a) air my laudry (dirty or otherwise) in public and b) talk about myself at extreme length to anyone who will listen.

What value do you think you are adding to the world by blogging?

I think I’m making the world a more awesome place. I have no idea, really. I don’t really think about it like that.

Do you feel defensive about blogging?

No, not at all. I feel more defensive about my MN use, because people who don’t DO the internet don’t seem to understand that it’s where some of my best friends live.

So that’s my thoughts on it, for now. Thanks again to Dilly for the prompt, and to you guys for reading.

Love to you all as ever xx

About Just Some Stuff About Us

I live in West Sussex with three bonkers children and a Rock God for a husband. I'm somewhere in my thirties but I frequently have to count on my fingers to remember where exactly. I like to talk about myself and my chums. Some people like to read it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

